Social Work Core Competencies

Competency 1: Identify as a professional social worker and conduct oneself accordingly.

Competency 2: Apply social work ethical principles to guide professional practice.

Competency 3: Apply critical thinking to inform and communicate professional judgments.

Competency 4: Engage diversity and difference in practice.

Competency 5: Advance human rights and social and economic justice.

Competency 6: Engage in research-informed practice and practice-informed research.

Competency 7: Apply knowledge of human behavior and the social environment.

Competency 8: Engage in policy practice to advance social and economic well-being and to deliver effective social work services.

Competency 9: Respond to contexts that shape practice.

Competency 10: Engage, assess, intervene, and evaluate with individuals, families, groups, organizations and communities.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: